• Entry
  • Entries A-Z

The FBI distinguishes eight index offenses from all other offenses and uses these eight offenses to measure crime rates nationally. The eight index offenses are reported in Part I of the Uniform Crime Reports issued annually by the FBI and include four violent offenses (murder, rape, robbery, and aggravated assault) and four property offenses (burglary, motor vehicle theft, larceny theft, and arson). Introduced in 1960, the use of the overall index crime rates was suspended in 2004 as a result of complaints that these rates are misleading because of the far more substantial contribution the property offenses made to the overall rate (larceny thefts accounted for approximately 60% of all index offenses reported). The FBI now reports violent crime rates and property crime rates separately.

See ...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles