• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Kingdom of the Netherlands
Koninkrijk der Nederlanden

Political Status: Constitutional monarchy established 1814; under multiparty parliamentary system.

Area: 13,103 sq. mi. (33,936 sq. km.).

Population: 17,390,916 (2012E—UN); 16,730,632 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): AMSTERDAM (739,000), Rotterdam (596,000), The Hague (seat of government, 468,000), Utrecht (276,000), Eindhoven (209,000).

Official Language: Dutch.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate October 3, 2011: 1 euro = $1.33US).

Sovereign: Queen BEATRIX Wilhelmina Armgard; ascended the throne April 30, 1980, upon the abdication of her mother, Queen JULIANA Louise Emma Marie Wilhelmina.

Heir Apparent: WILLEM—ALEXANDER, Prince of Orange.

Prime Minister: Mark RUTTE (People's Party for Freedom and Democracy); sworn in as head of a two-party minority coalition on October 14, 2010, following the general election of June 9, succeeding Jan Peter BALKENENDE (Christian Democratic Appeal).

The Country

Facing the North Sea between Belgium ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles