• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Republic of Moldova
Republica Moldova

Political Status: Formerly the Moldavian Soviet Socialist Republic, a constituent republic of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics; declared independence as the Republic of Moldova on August 27, 1991; became sovereign member of the Commonwealth of Independent States on December 21, 1991; new constitution approved on July 28, 1994, and entered into force on August 27.

Area: 13,000 sq. mi. (33,670 sq. km.).

Population: 3,599,249 (2012E—UN); 3,656,843 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): CHIŞINǍU (formerly Kishinev, 596,000), Tiraspol (185,000), Tighina (125,00), Bălţi (123,000).

Official Language: Moldovan.

Monetary Unit: Moldovan leu (official rate October 3, 2011: 11.83 leu = $1US).

President (Acting): Marian LUPU (Democratic Party); named acting president (due to his position as speaker of Parliament) by Parliament on December 30, 2010, to succeed Mihai GHIMPU (Liberal Party), ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles