• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Republic of the Marshall Islands

Note: Elections to the House of Representatives were scheduled for November 21, 2011, to be followed by new presidential balloting within the House.

Political Status: Sovereign state in free association with the United States (which retains authority with regard to defense) since October 21, 1986.

Area: 70 sq. mi. (181 sq. km.).

Population: 68,480 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2005E): DALAP—ULIGA—DARRIT (Majuro Atoll; 26,000).

Official Languages: English, Marshallese.

Monetary Unit: U.S. Dollar (see the entry on United States [and Related Territories] for principal exchange rates).

President: (See headnote.) Jurelang ZEDKAIA; elected by the House of Representatives on October 26, 2009, and inaugurated on November 2 to succeed Ruben ZACKHRAS (Our Islands), who had been named acting president following the defeat of Litokwa TOMEING (Our Islands) in a nonconfidence ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles