• Country
  • Countries A-Z
Cooperative Republic of Guyana

Note: Guyana's presidential and parliamentary elections were held on November 28, 2011. In the parliamentary election, the People's Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) maintained its position as the majority party, capturing 32 seats. It failed, however, to gain an overall majority as the Partnership for National Unity (an alliance organized by the People's National Congress Reform) won 26 seats and the Alliance for Change won 7 seats. With the PPP/C retaining its majority, Prime Minister Samuel Hinds was reappointed to another term. In the presidential election, Donald Ramotar (PPP/C) defeated David Granger (Partnership for National Unity) for the presidency. Ramotar replaces Bharrat Jagdeo (PPP/C) as president after Jagdeo reached the newly instituted presidential term limit.

Political Status: Formerly the colony of British Guiana; independent member ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles