• Country
  • Countries A-Z
République de Côte d'Ivoire

Political Status: Independent since August 7, 1960; present constitution adopted October 31, 1960; under de facto one-party regime prior to legalization of opposition parties on May 30, 1990; constitution suspended and governmental authority assumed by the military following a bloodless coup on December 24, 1999; new constitution providing for a return to civilian government approved by national referendum on June 23–24, 2000.

Area: 124,503 sq. mi. (322,463 sq. km.).

Population: 20,683,319 (2012E—UN); 21,504,162 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2005E): Abidjan (4,100,000). In March 1983 the interior city of YAMOUSSOUKRO (484,000, 2005E) was designated as the nation's capital. However, as of mid-2010 most government offices remained in Abidjan (the former capital), and most foreign governments were also still maintaining their embassies there.

Official Language: French.

Monetary Unit: CFA ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles