United Nations: Specialized Agencies

Edited by: Tom Lansford

In: Political Handbook of the World 2018–2019

United Nations: Specialized Agencies

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • International Organization
  • International Organizations

  • The United Nations has designated 16 organizations as Specialized Agencies, 13 of which are discussed here. This edition of the Handbook does not include separate entries on the UN World Tourism Organization (UNWTO), or 2 agencies whose activities are largely technical: the Universal Postal Union (UPU), which traces its origins to the 1874 Treaty Concerning the Establishment of a General Postal Union (the Berne Treaty), and the World Meteorological Organization (WMO), successor to the International Meteorological Organization (founded in 1878). Appendix C lists the members of all 16 Specialized Agencies.

    Food And Agriculture Organization Of The United Nations


    Established: By constitution signed in Quebec, Canada, October 16, 1945. The FAO became a UN Specialized Agency by agreement with the Economic and Social Council (approved by the General ...

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website