Southern Cone Common Market (Mercosur/Mercosul)

Edited by: Tom Lansford

In: Political Handbook of the World 2018–2019

Southern Cone Common Market (Mercosur/Mercosul)

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • International Organization
  • International Organizations

  • Nemby Nemuha
    Mercado Común do Cono Sur
    Mercado Comum de Cone Sul

    Established: By treaty signed March 26, 1991, in Asunción, Paraguay, by the presidents of Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, and Uruguay.

    Purpose: To establish a regional “common market of the southern cone” through the harmonization of policies in agriculture, industry, finance, transportation, and other sectors; to promote economic development through expanded extraregional trade and the pursuit of foreign investment.

    Headquarters: Montevideo, Uruguay.

    Principal Organs: Council of the Common Market, Common Market Group, Joint Parliamentary Commission, Secretariat.

    Website: (in Spanish and Portuguese only).

    Secretary-General: Tabaré Vázquez (Uruguay).

    Membership (6): Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Paraguay, Uruguay, Venezuela (suspended in 2016).

    Associate Members (6): Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Peru, Suriname.

    Observer (2): Mexico, New Zealand.

    Official Languages: Guaraní, Portuguese, Spanish.

    Origin and development. The idea of a regional common market was ...

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website