Southern African Development Community (SADC)

Edited by: Tom Lansford

In: Political Handbook of the World 2018–2019

Southern African Development Community (SADC)

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • International Organization
  • International Organizations

  • Established: By the Treaty of Windhoek, signed August 17, 1992, in Windhoek, Namibia, by representatives from the ten members of the former Southern African Development Coordination Conference (SADCC); Agreement Amending the Treaty signed August 14, 2001, in Blantyre, Malawi.

    Purpose: To achieve self-sustaining development and economic growth based on collective self-reliance and interdependence; to achieve sustainable use of natural resources while protecting the environment; to promote and defend regional peace and security; to enhance the standard of living through regional integration, including establishing a free trade area.

    Headquarters: Gaborone, Botswana.

    Principal Organs: Summit Meeting of Heads of State and Government; SADC Tribunal; Council of Ministers; Organ on Politics, Defense and Security Cooperation; Sectoral/Cluster Ministerial Committees; SADC Secretariat; Standing Committee of Senior Officials; SADC National Committees.


    Executive Secretary: Dr. ...

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website