South Asian Association For Regional Cooperation (SAARC)

Edited by: Tom Lansford

In: Political Handbook of the World 2018–2019

South Asian Association For Regional Cooperation (SAARC)

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • International Organization
  • International Organizations

  • Established: By charter signed December 8, 1985, in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

    Purpose: “[T]o promote the welfare of the peoples of South Asia and to improve their quality of life; . . . to promote and strengthen collective self-reliance among the countries of South Asia; . . . to promote active collaboration and mutual assistance in the economic, social, cultural, technical and scientific fields; . . . and to co-operate with international and regional organizations with similar aims and purposes.”

    Headquarters: Kathmandu, Nepal.

    Principal Organs: Meeting of Heads of State or Government, Council of Ministers, Standing Committee, Programming Committee, Technical Committees, Secretariat.


    Secretary-General: Amjad Hussain B. Sial (Pakistan).

    Membership (8): Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka.

    Observers (9): Australia, China, European Union, Iran, Japan, Mauritius, Myanmar, South Korea, United States.

    Official Language: English.

    Origin and development. Prior to the formation of SAARC, South ...

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website