Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC)

Edited by: Tom Lansford

In: Political Handbook of the World 2018–2019

Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC)

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • International Organization
  • International Organizations

  • Munazzamat al-Mu’tamar[Ta’aavon] [al-Alam al-Islami]

    Organisation de la Coopération Islamique (OCI)

    Established: By agreement of participants at the Conference of the Kings and Heads of State and Government held September 22–25, 1969, in Rabat, Morocco; charter signed at the Third Islamic Conference of Foreign Ministers, held February 29–March 4, 1972, in Jiddah, Saudi Arabia.

    Purpose: To promote Islamic solidarity and further cooperation among member states in the economic, social, cultural, scientific, and political fields.

    Headquarters: Jiddah, Saudi Arabia.

    Principal Organs: Conference of Kings and Heads of State and Government (Summit Conference), Conference of Foreign Ministers, General Secretariat.


    Secretary-General: Yousef bin Ahmad Al-Othaimeen (Saudi Arabia).

    Membership (57): Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Benin, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Comoro Islands, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, ...

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website