European Atomic Energy Community (EURATOM)

Edited by: Tom Lansford

In: Political Handbook of the World 2018–2019

European Atomic Energy Community (EURATOM)

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • International Organization
  • International Organizations

  • Communauté Européenne de l’Energie Atomique (CEEA)

    Established: By Treaty of Rome (Italy), signed March 25, 1957, effective January 1, 1958.

    Purpose: To develop research, to disseminate information, to enforce uniform safety standards, to facilitate investment, to ensure regular and equitable distribution of supplies of nuclear material, to guarantee that nuclear materials are not diverted from their designated uses and to exercise certain property rights in regard to such materials, to create a common market for the free movement of investment capital and personnel for nuclear industries, and to promote the peaceful uses of atomic energy.

    Membership: (See European Union, with Switzerland as a participating associated state.)


    Official Languages (24): Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, ...

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website