Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)

Edited by: Tom Lansford

In: Political Handbook of the World 2018–2019

Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • International Organization
  • International Organizations

  • Communauté Économique des États de l’Afrique de l’Ouest
    Comunidade Económica dos Estados da Africa Ocidental (CEDEAO)

    Established: By Treaty of Lagos (Nigeria), signed May 28, 1975; amended by Treaty of Cotonou (Benin), signed July 24, 1993; entry into force of the latter announced July 30, 1995.

    Purpose: “To promote cooperation and integration leading to the establishment of an economic union in West Africa in order to raise the living standards of its peoples, and to maintain and enhance economic stability, foster relations among member states and contribute to the progress and development of the African Continent.”

    Headquarters: Abuja, Nigeria.

    Principal Organs: Authority of Heads of State and Government, Council of Ministers, Community Parliament, Economic and Social Council, Specialized Technical Commissions, Community Court of Justice, ECOWAS Bank for Investment and Development, ...

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website