Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)

Edited by: Tom Lansford

In: Political Handbook of the World 2018–2019

Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • International Organization
  • International Organizations

  • Sodruzhestvo Nezavisimykh Gosudarstv (SNG)

    Established: By the Alma-Ata Protocol, signed by 11 of the former constituent states of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics in Alma-Ata (now Almaty), Kazakhstan, on December 21, 1991.

    Purpose: To assist in the orderly transfer of governmental functions and treaty obligations of the former Soviet Union to its independent successor states, to promote coordinated policies in disarmament and national security, and to work toward economic unity among members.

    Administrative Center: Minsk, Belarus.

    Principal Organs: Council of Heads of State, Council of Heads of Government, Ministerial Councils, Interparliamentary Assembly, Joint Chiefs of Staff, Executive Committee, Secretariat.

    Website: and (Site has a comprehensive English section.)

    Executive Secretary: Sergei Lebedev (Russia).

    Membership (9): Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan.

    Official Language: Russian.

    Origin and development. Following acceptance ...

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website