Common Market For Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)

Edited by: Tom Lansford

In: Political Handbook of the World 2018–2019

Common Market For Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • International Organization
  • International Organizations

  • Established: By treaty signed November 5, 1993, in Kampala, Uganda; effective as of December 8, 1994.

    Purpose: To promote wide-ranging regional economic cooperation, particularly in the areas of agriculture, industry, transportation, and communications; to facilitate intraregional trade through the reduction or elimination of trade barriers and the establishment of regional financial institutions; to establish a common external tariff and internal free trade zone; and to pursue “economic prosperity through regional integration.”

    Headquarters: Lusaka, Zambia.

    Principal Organs: Authority of Heads of State and Government, Council of Ministers, Committee of Governors, Intergovernmental Committee, Court of Justice, Secretariat.


    Secretary-General: Chileshe Kapwepwe (Zambia).

    Membership (19): Burundi, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, eSwatini (formerly Swaziland), Ethiopia, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sudan, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

    Official Languages: English, French, ...

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website