Caribbean Community and Common Market (CARICOM)

Edited by: Tom Lansford

In: Political Handbook of the World 2018–2019

Caribbean Community and Common Market (CARICOM)

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • International Organization
  • International Organizations

  • Established: August 1, 1973, pursuant to the July 4, 1973, Treaty of Chaguaramas (Trinidad), as successor to the Caribbean Free Trade Association.

    Purpose: To deepen the integration process prevailing within the former Caribbean Free Trade Association, to enable all member states to share equitably in the benefits of integration, to operate certain subregional common services, and to coordinate the foreign policies of the member states.

    Headquarters: Georgetown, Guyana.

    Principal Organs: Heads of Government Conference, Community Council of Ministers, Secretariat.


    Secretary-General: Irwin LaRocque (Dominica).

    Membership (15): Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas (member of the community but not the common market), Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Kitts-Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines (member of the community but not of the common market), Suriname, Trinidad and ...

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website