Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

Edited by: Tom Lansford

In: Political Handbook of the World 2018–2019

Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • International Organization
  • International Organizations

  • Established: By foreign ministers of member states August 9, 1967, in Bangkok, Thailand.

    Purpose: “To accelerate economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region . . . to promote active collaboration and mutual assistance on matters of common interest in the economic, social, cultural, technical, scientific, and administrative fields . . . to collaborate more effectively for the greater utilization of [the member states’] agriculture and industries, the expansion of their trade, including the study of problems of international commodity trade, the improvement of their transport and communication facilities and raising the living standards of their people.”

    Headquarters: Jakarta, Indonesia.

    Principal Organs: ASEAN Heads of State and Government, ASEAN Ministerial Meeting, ASEAN Community Councils, ASEAN Standing Committees.


    Secretary-General: Lim Jock Hoi (Brunei).

    Membership (10): Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar (Burma), Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam.

    Official ...

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website