Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

Edited by: Tom Lansford

In: Political Handbook of the World 2018–2019

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • International Organization
  • International Organizations

  • Established: At a meeting of foreign and economic ministers of 12 nations November 6–7, 1989, in Canberra, Australia; objectives and principles set forth in Seoul Declaration approved during ministerial meeting November 12–14, 1991, in Seoul, South Korea; Declaration of Institutional Arrangements adopted September 10–11, 1992, in Bangkok, Thailand.

    Purpose: To provide a forum for discussion on a variety of economic issues and to promote multilateral cooperation among the region’s market-oriented economies.

    Headquarters: Singapore.

    Principal Organs: Economic Leaders’ Meeting, Ministerial Meeting, Senior Officials’ Meeting, Budget and Management Committee, Committee on Trade and Investment, Economic Committee, Secretariat.


    Executive Director: Dr. Alan Bollard (New Zealand).

    Membership (21): Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Taiwan ...

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website