Arab League

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • International Organization
  • International Organizations

  • al-Jami’a al-’Arabiyah

    Official Name: League of Arab States.

    Established: By treaty signed March 22, 1945, in Cairo, Egypt.

    Purpose: To strengthen relations among member states by coordinating policies in political, cultural, economic, social, and related affairs; to mediate disputes between members or between members and third parties.

    Headquarters: Cairo, Egypt.

    Principal Organs: Council of the League of Arab States (all members), Economic and Social Council (all adherents to the 1950 Collective Security Treaty), Joint Defense Council (all adherents to the 1950 Collective Security Treaty), Permanent Committees (all members), General Secretariat.


    Secretary-General: Ahmed Aboul Gheit (Egypt).

    Membership (22): Algeria, Bahrain, Comoro Islands, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria (currently represented by the Syrian opposition after the government was suspended in 2011), ...

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website