• Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • Country
  • Countries A-Z

  • Republic of Madagascar
    Repoblikan’i Madagasikara (Malagasy)
    République de Madagascar (French)

    Note: Following heavily disputed presidential balloting on November 7, 2018, with runoff polling on December 19, Madagascar’s constitutional court declared Andry Rajoelina (Young Malagasies Determined) the winner with 55.7 percent of the vote. Former president Rajoelina defeated fellow former president Marc Ravalomanana (I Love Madagascar), who received 44.3 percent of the vote.

    Political Status: Established as the Malagasy Republic within the French Community in 1958; became independent June 26, 1960; military regime established May 18, 1972; name of Democratic Republic of Madagascar and single-party system adopted in new constitution and Socialist Revolutionary Charter approved by national referendum on December 21, 1975; present name adopted in the new constitution of the Third Republic (codifying multiparty activity first authorized by presidential ...

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website