• Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • Country
  • Countries A-Z

  • Republic of Macedonia
    Republika Makedonija

    Note: The country was admitted to the United Nations in April 1993 as “The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia,” although international usage of this title (particularly in regard to capitalization) has varied, with the abbreviation FYROM sometimes being invoked (see Current issues, below).

    Political Status: Former constituent republic of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia; independence proclaimed under constitution of November 17, 1991, on the basis of a referendum conducted September 8.

    Area: 9,928 sq. mi. (25,713 sq. km).

    Population: 2,085,000 (2018E—World Bank); 2,107,091 (2018E—U.S. Census).

    Major Urban Center (2015E—UN): SKOPJE (503,000).

    Official Languages: Macedonian, Albanian. Macedonian, with a Cyrillic alphabet, is further designated as the official language for international relations. Albanian, with a Latin alphabet, became an official language under a 2001 constitutional revision that authorized ...

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website