• Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • Country
  • Countries A-Z

  • Georgia

    Political Status: Formerly the Georgian Soviet Socialist Republic, a constituent republic of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR); renamed Republic of Georgia on November 14, 1990; declared independence on April 9, 1991; renamed Georgia under new constitution promulgated on October 17, 1995. (The autonomous republics of Abkhazia and South Ossetia have unilaterally declared their independence and have defied Georgia’s political and military efforts to integrate them into the national structure. However, their independent status had not been recognized by any other country until they were recognized by Russia on August 26, 2008, following the Russian–Georgian military conflict earlier in the month. As of August 2018 Nauru, Nicaragua, Syria, and Venezuela were the only other countries to have joined Russia in recognizing the independence of ...

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website