Democratic Republic of The Congo

Edited by: Tom Lansford

In: Political Handbook of the World 2018–2019

Democratic Republic of The Congo

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • Country
  • Countries A-Z

  • République Démocratique du Congo

    Note: In national elections on December 30, 2018, opposition leader Félix Tshisekedi of the Union for Democracy and Social Progress (UDPS) was elected president with 38.6 percent of the vote. No party secured a majority in the parliament, with the ruling People's Party for Reconstruction and Democracy (formerly the People's Party for Reconciliation and Development) first with 52 seats, followed by the newly formed Alliance of Democratic Forces of Congo and Allies, second with 41, and the UDPS, third with 32. Tshisekedi took office on January 24, 2019.

    Political Status: Independent republic established June 30, 1960; one-party constitution of February 1978 modified in June 1990 to accommodate multiparty system; all government institutions dissolved on May 17, 1997, following rebel takeover of the capital, ...

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website