Previous Chapter Advertising Codes Next Chapter

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

Advertising Codes
Advertising codes

The largely self-regulatory system, used by the mass media industries, to ensure that any advertising they include is ‘legal, decent, honest and truthful’ (Radio Authority 7). There are four main codes which offer guidelines on advertising practice: the British Codes of Advertising, Sales Promotion and Direct Marketing (the CAP Code) covering non-broadcast advertising such as the press; the ITC Advertising Standards Code, covering television advertising; the Radio Authority Advertising and Sponsorship Code, covering radio advertising; and the Direct Marketing Association Code of Practice, covering direct marketing. Although the Radio Authority and the ITC have now been superseded by the Office of Communications (Ofcom), the RA and ITC Codes remain in operation. With all broadcast media, it is the responsibility of the broadcasters ...

Looks like you do not have access to this content.


Don’t know how to login?

Click here for free trial login.

Back to Top

Copy and paste the following HTML into your website