Previous Chapter Chapter 7: Awarding Bodies Next Chapter

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

Awarding Bodies
Awarding bodies

Awarding bodies design qualifications and their attendant assessments and subsequently administer and award on those assessments, which can consist of workplace-based activities, coursework, controlled assessment, tests and examinations. Awarding bodies in the UK are subject to regulation. In England, the regulator is the Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation (Ofqual). Currently, the government will not fund schools and colleges to offer qualifications that Ofqual has not accredited. There are 178 awarding organisations; six of them are the main providers of qualifications for 14- to 19-year-olds (Ofqual, 2012b). This entry concentrates on them; they are ...

Looks like you do not have access to this content.


Don’t know how to login?

Click here for free trial login.

Back to Top

Copy and paste the following HTML into your website